An Introduction

Over the years I have had some incredible discussions with people who see things differently.  It seems that I was born to ask some of the awkward questions to which there are no easy answers.

In About this Blog I have tried to give an indication of where my journey has taken me and why at the age of 76, I have a faith that I’m happy to share with anyone who might be interested.

I cannot remember a time when I didn’t believe in the existence of God but my views have changed enormously after having been outside the walls of ‘traditional’ Christianity for some forty years. In the last few years I seem to have learned so much about why people believe what they believe, often as a result of divisive, denominational theology.

What we believe obviously affects our understanding of the purpose of life.  Now, with knowledge abounding and easy access to the internet, people are thinking for themselves, and questioning what they have been taught – and that’s something I would want to encourage.  I have far more empathy with some atheists than I do with those ‘Christians’ who think they have all the answers.

I have long understood that there are those who take the story of Genesis literally and those who have an understanding of the story as ‘myth and symbolism’.  Some believe that the Bible is the inerrant ‘Word of God’ while others believe that while the Bible is ‘inspired’, it is Jesus who should be seen as the Word of God!

I had at one time been taught that Genesis 1.1-3 indicates that the earth was struck by some cataclysmic event (some suggest as a result of the fall of Satan) between v1 and v2 – and that the Bible is referring to a restoration of it’s original condition. I have also seen it suggested that when Adam sinned God had two options. He could give up on man and allow creation to go back into chaos and darkness, or He could initiate a rescue operation.

Some people feel that in an ideal world we would be returning to the Garden of Eden. Others feel that we need to be able to return to the time of the early church.

It was in August 2011 (at the same time that I was considering the content of this new blog) that the controversy surrounding the reality or otherwise of Adam and Eve, came to a head again (in America) when John Schneider, a conservative theologian who taught at Calvin College in Michigan until recently, said that it’s time to face facts, “There is no historical Adam and Eve; no serpent; no apple; no fall that toppled man from a state of innocence”.  To many evangelicals that is absolute heresy!  Schneider went on to say, “Evolution makes it pretty clear that in nature, and in the moral experience of human beings, there never was any such paradise to be lost”.

Albert Mohler, the president of Southern Baptist Theological Seminary responded by saying that the denial of an historical Adam and Eve as the first parents of all humanity and the solitary first human pair, severs the link between Adam and Christ which is so crucial to the gospel.  He went on to say, “If we do not know how the story of the Gospel begins, then we do not know what that story means.  Make no mistake; a false start to the story produces a false grasp of the Gospel”.

But here was an evangelical leader saying that if we do not accept the literal reality of Adam and Eve we have a false grasp of the gospel!!!!!!!

This just reinforced the conclusion I came to a few years ago (highlighted on my other blog) that there is an enormous difference between the Christian RELIGION (or Christendom) and the Christian FAITH.

I would suggest that in order to pick up my story you look at ‘About this Blog‘ and then what I have written about my friend ‘Dave Price‘ and then the oldest post, ‘Nearing the End of the Journey . . . ?

About Peter

I am now 81 and walked away from 'traditional' Christianity over 40 years ago. I seem to have a bit of a reputation for asking some of the awkward questions to which there are no easy answers.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

